How to Get Started with ITIL Language

Understanding the Language

Knowing and understanding Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) verbiage is an important place to start when it comes to laying the foundation of your ITSM operations. For many IT organizations, a best-practices framework for processes, strategy, implementations and roles all start with ITIL in some form or another. For this reason, IT leaders must familiarize themselves with the lexicon, phrasing and general language associated with ITIL in order to successfully implement their ITSM initiatives and adequately train their staff.

Key Terms to Know

According to the latest iteration of ITIL 2011, there are five key stages in the ITIL service process lifecycle: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement. However, due to the way ITIL was written and has been adapted to modern ITSM environments over the years, it can sometimes be difficult to parse out how certain terms in these phases relate to processes already established within an organization. We have provided a helpful guide that clearly lists key ITIL terms in an easy to read format that relates to the modern ITSM infrastructure. This guide covers 35 key terms in these areas:

  • Service Asset Configuration
  • Change Management
  • Service Desk
  • Service Catalog

Learn more about the ITIL vocabulary in our FREE help guide, "Understanding the ITIL Language: 35 Key Terms and Definitions." Click the banner below to download!

Previous Article
3 Ways That ITIL Can Support IT Healthcare Organizations
3 Ways That ITIL Can Support IT Healthcare Organizations

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) compliance mandate is always a top of mind...

Next Article
ITSM Advancing to New Era of Business-IT Alignment
ITSM Advancing to New Era of Business-IT Alignment

If you were to receive a sales cold call with a person on the other line encouraging you to get excited a...